United Way of Peel Region announces 2009 Spirit Award winners

February 4, 2010

MISSISSAUGA —United Way of Peel Region today announced the recipients of the 2009 Campaign Spirit Awards at its 2009 Community Achievement Celebration held at the International Centre in Mississauga.

“The Spirit Awards honour innovative and inspirational campaigns that demonstrate team spirit while raising funds for United Way,” said United Way CEO Shelley White. “Despite ongoing economic hardships, our community persevered and helped us raise a total of $12,835,582. It is during times like these that more people than ever will turn to United Way-funded programs and services for support.”

The following organizations received Spirit Awards:

Best First-Time Campaign:

Presented to first-time workplace campaigns that demonstrate outstanding participation.
P&G salon professional, Mississauga
ConAgra Foods Canada Inc., Mississauga

Outstanding Joint Union-Management Campaign:

Presented to both public and private sector joint union and management campaigns that best exemplify teamwork and leadership.
Public Sector Winner:
Peel District School Board and Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation Locals 19 & 64, Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario, Peel Elementary Teachers’ Local

Private Sector Winners:
ESAB Group Canada Inc., Mississauga and United Steelworkers Local 9042; and
Canada Post Corporation, Mississauga and Canadian Union of Postal Workers, Public Services Alliance of Canada, Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association, Association of Postal Officials of Canada.

Outstanding Agency Campaign Award:

Presented to a United Way-funded agency that has exceptional participation in its employee United Way campaign.
PLASP Child Care Services (locations in Brampton and Mississauga)
Family Services of Peel (locations in Brampton and Mississauga); and
Catholic Cross-cultural Services (locations in Brampton and Mississauga).

Best National Employee Campaign:

Presented to an organization that runs an exceptional national campaign and has the greatest increase in participation and/or dollars raised. To be eligible, organizations must be headquartered in Peel and have locations across the country that run a coordinated campaign.
Winners: Canada Dry Motts Inc., Mississauga; and
Purolator Courier Ltd., Mississauga

Outstanding Corporate Campaign Award:

Presented to a corporation that excels in many areas of corporate support.
General Mills Canada, Mississauga;
Hershey Canada, Mississauga;
Citi Cards, Mississauga; and
GlaxoSmithKine Inc., Mississauga

Speakers’ Bureau Award:

Presented to a member of the United Way Speakers’ Bureau who is an outstanding ambassador and public speaker.
Winner: Sharon Whelan, Bantrel

Outstanding Leadership Giving Campaign Award:

Given to organizations that conduct an exemplary Leadership Giving Campaign. A leadership donor gives more than $1,000 annually.
Regional Municipality of Peel
General Electric Canada, Mississauga

Outstanding Employee Campaign Award:

Presented to the workplace campaigns that show an outstanding increase in employee participation and achieve excellent results.
IMS Health Canada, Mississauga;
ESI Canada, Mississauga; and
Citigroup Funds Services Canada, Mississauga.

Pacesetter Award:

Presented to an organization that takes the lead by making a written commitment to support United Way prior to the public launch of the campaign.
Winner: Edward Jones, Mississauga.

Chair’s Award of Merit:

This award honours an organization that has gone above and beyond their traditional support for United Way.
Winner: Baxter Corporation, Mississauga.

Award winners, excluding the Speakers’ Bureau award, were selected by the following judges: United Way Board member Louroz Mercader; CEO Shelley White; Assistant Director Resource Development Kimberley Souliere; Labour Community Services of Peel Labour Director Susan Mortimer; Paddy Ramsingh, Executive Director Family Services of Peel; Angela Stevens, Canada Post and member of the Canadian Union of Postal Workers; and Sharon Whelan, Bantrel.

Media Contact:
Liz Leake
Communications and Marketing Director